Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

My Rating: 5 stars on Goodreads

Rarely do you come across a book that resonates with you from the very first word. This was one such book for me. The lives of Kambili, Jaja, Ifeoma, Amaka, Eugene, Father Amadi and others seem to make me think even when I was not reading the book. This is my first experience with African literature and I’m so enthralled by this book that I’ve promptly collected all the other books written by Chimamanda Adichie. This year I’ve made a conscious decision of reading more diverse authors and I’m so happy that I did! This book is rich in detail, powerful in its delivery with beautiful prose and a taut storyline. The towns of Nnusuka and Enugu are painted in such vivid details that I could clearly imagine those in front of my eyes even though I’ve never visited Africa. A brilliant coming of age story that I think everyone should read at least once during their lifetimes. I’m delighted to have found a new favorite author. 🙂

Leave a comment